The Virginia Veterans Services Foundation (the Foundation) is established as an independent body politic and corporate state agency supporting the Virginia Department of Veterans Services, in the executive branch of state government. The Foundation is composed of a governing board of trustees, supporting staff, donors, volunteers, and other interested parties.

The Foundation is governed and administered by a supervisory board of trustees. The Foundation shall (i) administer the Veterans Services Fund (the Fund), (ii) provide funding for veterans services and programs in the Commonwealth through the Fund, and (iii) accept and raise revenue from all sources including private source fundraising to support the Fund.

The Foundation seeks to:

  • Inspire others through its own sense of dedication and high purpose;
  • Value the privacy, freedom of choice, and interests of all those affected by its actions;
  • Foster cultural diversity, pluralistic values, and treat all people with dignity and respect;
  • Support the Donors’ Bill of Rights.

Board of Trustees


VSF Representative

Board Chairman

Richard A. Schollmann

Board 1st Vice Chairman

Albert Pianalto

Board 2nd Vice Chairman

Jack Lanier

Finance Committee Chairman

Frank Driscoll

Finance Vice Committee Chairman

William M. Lechler

Development Committee Chair

Frank Finelli

Development Committee Vice Chair

John Lesinski

Board Member

Brad Antle

Board Member

James B. Boyd

Board Member

Nicole B. Carry

Board Member

Jack O. Lanier

Board Member

Kathleen B. Livingston

Board Member

Thomas V. Mulrine

Board Member

Meade A. Spotts

Board Member

Walter A. Stosch

Board Member

Randall L. West

Board Member

Matice J. Wright

Ex Officio

John Newby

Ex Officio

James Icenhour

Ex Officio

Harold H. "Bart" Barton

Agent to the Board

Col. Jack Hilgers

Acting Executive Director: Karla Boughey

Treasurer: Tammy Davidson

Secretary: Vacant